The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Silly Saturday: getting ready for winter

CleanSteve went off to the market this morning. We'd been awoken far too early by an ominous sound from the attic. It stopped when CS got up, but then restarted. I'm thinking a herd of rhinos are living up there. I'm going to have to go up and have a look. What was that old adage about having a cat?

I spent most of the day in bed finishing my book, The husband's secret, by Liane Moriarty, and catching up with two of my sisters and V by WhatsApp. Our mother's move has not been without incident, but she is in now, upstairs  in a room overlooking the road and bus stop. She  can also  see a bird table down below. If she has to live in a care home (and she does) then it's a nice one, in a village rather than the town, where she has never chosen to  live. 

At some point the doorbell rang and two parcels were delivered. They contained socks and my giant green hoodie/throw, which has a  pocket, and room for twenty people! I can  even tuck my knees up in it when I'm sitting on the sofa. I couldn't resist taking silly photos and creating a new identity as a rainbow-habited nun. I've never grown up, in case you hadn't noticed. 

And thus the day wore on. I wish I HAD gone out further than next door, because the sun was shining. But going for a walk takes effort....

When S came back, we lazed around for a while, then I got up to make supper, and we watched Fishermen's Friends, the first film about the Port Isaac Fishermen's Friends, the Cornish sea shanty singers who had a surprise hit album in 2010. Perfect for a cosy Saturday evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.