Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Giles

Firstly, thanks for all the hearts on my 'Wells' blip yesterday.

We didn't go far today.  The decorator finished our bedroom and the en-suite last week (which look really good) and will be moving on to the bathroom and other two bedrooms (one of which we use as a study/office) on the top floor next week.  That meant we had to move the furniture out of his way, which included a book case which needed everything taking off it first.  This collection of 'Giles' cartoon annuals was amongst the books.

As you can see, some are not in great shape, but they are quite old and have been well read.  The earliest is, I think, from 1946, and I have many of the annuals since then with only a few missing.  It was a bit of a family tradition that my father got the Giles annual at Christmas; initially my mother bought it for him and after she died I continued to give it to him.  After he died I still bought it each year and even have one or two modern compilations.  I tend to look out in second hand bookshops for the missing ones but some of the early ones can be quite valuable in good condition, and I'm not prepared to pay silly money for them.

The cartoons themselves are great and can be viewed over and again, with many bits of detail you don't always see at first.  Many of the older ones have themes that could apply to modern day politics; I often think they could make a good blip but they are, of course, protected by copyright.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.