Beinghere

By Beinghere

Granddaughter Jessica

With her rock painting she did this afternoon. Son, Bruce, and Jess came down this morning and we’ve had a very busy day fence building. I can’t tell you the last time I felt so tired - but it’s done and looking great.
I told Bruce and Jess about our family connection to Palestine today.
My Grandad was very badly wounded during WW1 while in the Middle East. He was nursed back to health in the small town of Ramleh in Palestine. Had the Muslim Arabs of Palestine not saved his life he would not have returned from the war to meet and marry Mary, and raise their daughter, who went on to marry, and in turn have my sister and myself.
My grandparents named their home Ramleh after the village where his life was saved.
Certainly gives me pause for thought that I probably owe my existence to these kind and generous people who saved my grandfather’s life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.