BoydMcAdam

By BoydMcAdam

Last minute

When I was in the city centre yesterday I discovered that today was the last day for the exhibition of Grayson Perry’s work at the National Gallery on the Mound. (I had thought it had longer to run.). All tickets for Saturday were sold out, despite the extended opening hours, but I managed to get an early evening timed slot for tonight before they closed at 9.

Like many Edinburgh citizens I avoid going to such exhibitions during peak festival times but sometimes, come September/ October, I forget and on occasion miss them. I am glad I made this one - just in the nick of time

Some of the depictions were - as the blurb said - “potentially “ challenging for some” as he worked through his internal exploration of his identity and sexuality.

However, the scale of creativity in so many media; the phenomenal attention to detail; the links to art, culture and traditions from across the world and the observation and critique of British, and especially English society and class issues made it a compelling visit.

It was almost too much to take in.

So many possible photos but just a couple of main ones. The standouts for me were the tapestries both in their scale and design as well as the attention to detail and their humour . They are created digitally and in many cases woven on a loom in Belgium.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.