curns' corner

By curns

Tomorrow People

Today started with the follow-up to yesterday’s hygienist appointment - an appointment with the dentist. He had just come back from completing the Venice marathon and had his participants medal on the side. It always makes me laugh. While we were waiting for the receptionist to return so I could pay we got chatting to another patient in the waiting room who turned out to be running a course on podcasting, and made several interesting recommendations that I might follow up in the coming weeks.  

As I walked home, I picked up some bacon and soft rolls from the shop so that I could make us bacon rolls before we had to leave for the Southbank Centre.

We went to a screening of The Tomorrow People, a 70s science-fiction children’s television show, which was part of a time travel season at British Film Institute. We were shown four episodes from a story entitled A Rift In Time, which involved some time travel back to the Roman era. I am not sure I would’ve watched them have they come on the television but I think we both thoroughly enjoyed watching it. Nicolas Young, who played the character John in the series, was part of the discussion. After we’d seen the episodes he was thoroughly entertaining and made me want to listen to his DVD commentaries. I may be inspired to make an order from Amazon later during the week.

I had thought we might go and see the end of The Lord Mayor’s Show when we had finished at the BFI, but the event went on longer than I imagined and we had missed the return parade. My next idea was we might get some lunch from the food market behind the Southbank Centre, but when we looked at the price of a simple Mac & Cheese we decided it was a little bit much and went home. However, I had Mac & Cheese on the brain by this point, so went to the supermarket to buy a few extras and knocked up a home-made version when we got in which was probably much cheaper than the one we could’ve bought.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.