eyesee

By davidc

MonoMonday: ?New Moon?...You must be kidding! ;-)

Carolina as our MM host this month would like blips of the New Moon today...unfortunately no-one told the weather gods here in NE England! Storm Debi decided to bring heavy clouds, rain and wind so that seeing the moon at all wasn't possible (we did see the sun for a very brief period but even it was only peeping through a very transient small break in the cloud).

So you'll need to use your imagination here. I checked "The Photographers' Ephemeris" app on my phone to see what time the moon would rise and set, and in what direction. As you can see from the screenshot from the app (in the inset), it was due to set at 15.44 hours at an angle of 230.6 degrees. So at the time I consulted it (14.20) I reckon it would be at about 215 degrees, which I think is just about where this street points. So somewhere behind that cloud is the new moon - you'll just have to imagine it. Apologies that I couldn't do better than that today! ;-))

[Disclaimer: My Editor put me up to interpreting the challenge this way!]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.