CrocusMan

By TonyG

Sunshine

Welcome this morning ... and it continued on and off all day.   Here,  late afternoon, I had to hold the little pot of Narcissus romieuxii up to catch the low sun in the greenhouse.   At one time, it was long ago, I had a large collection of winter flowering narcissus.  The early years of parenthood were not kind to them and I hope to grow a few more now that life is finally a little less busy.  (Oh yes, it is, whatever you might think!)   The Welsh weather may limit my aspirations but under glass they have a chance at least.

Another gentle day.  Some admin chores and another spell sorting plants in the greenhouse.   I recently picked up a number of bargain Sempervivums, repotting them today out of the soil-less garden centre compost I found the roots were poor in all and there were both root aphids and vine weevil grubs which are most likely the reason.  So I have pretty much bare-rooted them all and potted them up in a huge clay pot using a mix of topsoil, sharp sand and grit .... mostly the latter two.   They should recover and will doubtless provide blip-fodder in due course.

At pottery around sunset after walking both dogs I finished glazing the fish bowl and turned a hand built little vase on a wheel, evening out some bumps and adding texture.  An extra pic of the texturing in progress.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.