Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Grandma's Shawl

Thanks to osuzana for hosting Tiny Tuesday. 

This shawl belonged to my grandmother and was used by her and subsequently my mum to keep cosy in the winter. It has found its way to me though I don't use it. It drapes over a chair in the bedroom. My mum's view of wool was that it should not be washed frequently. But there comes a time! I enjoy handwashing so yesterday I gave the shawl a freshen up. In so doing I discovered a few worrying holes. Not moths I hope but just the passage of time. It's not one of those extra fine 1 ply shawls you can pull through a wedding ring but it's a bit of family history. Anyway, here's a close up of it.

I did make a fruit cake yesterday using my usual method. It's now wrapped up and being  stored for next month. 

The weather is horrible this morning. So wet and dull. I hope it cheers up later. I'll have to find some indoor activities for the next few hours. Then I'm out tonight at a friend's house and that'll be fun. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.