The Pensioner

By Pensioner

No2 The Larch

A morning settling down to write. I was about to say, to pen a piece, but I guess few people pen these days. Pen, as a verb. I didn’t write, either. I tapped! Eventually I got there - 900 words. However I’m not going to send it off to the newsletter editor straight away - I’m going to hold it hostage. He’s promised to send me back copies of the newsletter as pdfs for the website so many times and never has. 
Later a film: The Burial with Jamie Foxx and Tommy Lee Jones. An entertaining enough mainstream courtroom drama thing which ran out of drama, really.

Earlier, big news. The Government that keeps on giving. It would be funny if it was someone else’s. As Simon Jenkins says, "When the solution to your problem is David Cameron, you know you’re in deep trouble.”
Cameron.. wasn’t he a Remainer? The arch Remainer? But this is the party that had transformed itself into the Brexit party. That’ll upset a few. Still, Cameron’s pretty good. His Libyan adventure was a cracker. That went well. And then a referendum that he managed to lose, with no understanding at all of what exactly that meant. I’m off, he said. Off to grub money for Greensill. A "significant lack of judgment" over lobbying in which he held a personal economic interest. No, not a lack of judgement. Greed. Lack of ethical practice. Jesus. Gawd, save us all from this tawdry bunch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.