The Pensioner

By Pensioner

When you go home, tell them of us, and say..

Up to Haymarket to meet AJ and join in the Hearts Remembrance Sunday Ceremony. A bit different from all the unseemly goings on in that London the day before. 
Back home and out with the SK to fetch the boat over to the pontoon. There’s barely enough space so my new neighbour Daniel and I start shuffling all the boats along a bit which takes a surprising amount of time. And only gives me a tiny bit more room.
And I’ve got a chancer beside me on the other side, albeit temporarily. Loads of ropes in a jumble from his boat to both the cleats. It’s a sign, isn’t it? I clear him off one of the cleats. He’s the only guy amongst fifteen winter berthers who hasn’t paid (due one month ago). That’s a sign too. So I chased him up (with my Treasurer’s hat on) - he didn’t reply to my email. I got his number from RFYC. And texted him. No reply. I left a voicemail; he didn’t call back. That prompted him to send an email reply at least. Oh…it was in his junk folder. How much is it? What are the bank details? I send him all the info (which he’s already had). That was November 1st. Has he paid? Has he diddle.
I don't know the guy but I can tell I don't like him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.