CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A nuthatch and a finch compete for sunflower seeds

It was rather dismal and dreich, with intermittent rain and a strong breeze. I looked out from my office window and was pleased to see a nuthatch swooping down onto the sunflower feeder. I’ve noticed it has been only visiting occasionally but today it seemed to be going back and forth with several seeds taken each time.

A great spotted woodpecker arrived to boss all comers away but it reacted adversely when I opened my window and flew far away down the valley. I’ve been hoping to photograph the pair of blackcaps which have returned this autumn, but I’ve found it hard to photograph as they are very shy.

When the nuthatch returned I was hoping to catch it flying away, but when this female chaffinch (I think) flew down it didn’t seem to be daunted like other small birds. But as soon as it landed the nuthatch turned and pecked at it so that it flew straight off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.