CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Nailsworth Remembrance Day parade to the church

I drove to Nailsworth this morning in the pouring rain to the local Community Workshop, where people can bring their faulty electrical equipment to be checked and hopefully repaired. By arrangement I’d brought my amplifier and tuner, which I’ve blipped recently, and unpacked them on one of the benches. Paul the organiser apologised when he saw it as he said it would need to be looked at by ‘Bill’, who was the most capable of the electrical engineers, but who was unable to be there today. He said that the amplifier looked too complicated for  the other volunteers to cope with. I’m hoping that Paul can arrange for me to drop it off at Bill’s home in the near future.

Once IO had repackaged it to protect them from the rain I walked outside to the car. As I poked it away I noticed the road had become blocked with cars and I heard the sound of a silver band playing just down the hill. I realised that there was a Remembrance Sunday parade climbing the hill past the war memorial and then on to the church. 

I grabbed my little camera from my bag and walked quickly down to the see the parade. I hardly had time to get ready so this is a rather poor snap in the rain, hardly in focus, but at least I got a shot to record this special day. I have of course been thinking of the terrible strife in Gaza, which reinforces the importance of never forgetting and reminds us that we should not let wars happen at all, if only we can.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.