A day in the life

By Shelling

Art

Am article in the morning newspaper caught my eye, the art gallery in Kalmar opened two separate exhibitions and I wanted to see them both. I was going across the bridge to Kalmar anyway to have a service done on my car and I had planned to go to the indian restaurant to eat lunch so all coincided.

The gallerists was Thomas Tempte, a wood-craftsman working with intarsia, in art but also in furniture, boxes and wooden constructions. I was impressed by patience and the detail in his work, the exhibits were mainly intarsias made as "paintings" on the wall. Some over a metre high, some minute. The main is an intarsia depicting the old cemetery in Kalmar. The other artist is a woman called Olivia Plender (extra). Much of her work focus on how communities have developed alternative ways to educate themselves about the relation between ill healt and structures of inequality. A heart touching video showed a group of women practicing self defence and the importance of standing up to themselves.

In the afternoon I met one of my students for a fun discussion-class on how to play country music. Since he has a country music concert tomorrow, it became more of a confidence practice, that what he was already doing was good enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.