Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

PERSIMMON

For Tiny Tuesday Ive blipped half of a persimmon fruit.  Its one of a trio of persimmons I bought in Marks and Spencers on 24th October.  I've been waiting patiently for them to ripen enough to eat - today was the day.  Thanks to osuzanna for hosting and  H0tamer for coordinating .

The wind and rain finally stopped today  so I headed off down to the village this afternoon.  6 parcels to collect.  Again nothing for me.  Did a lot of shopping in Herons and Tesco before walking back up the hill to get home.  My shopping trolley was very heavy today.

On my way home I bumped into my sister in laws sister.  It was nice to see her so I could offer my condolences on the loss of her husband a couple of weeks ago.  I had sent a card but seeing her in person was better.  We had a nice chat.  She's doing OK.  She has a son and daughter who are helping out organising the funeral etc.  And her sister ( my sister in law ) is being very supportive.

There were more talks today between the bus company and the union.  They ended without a resolution.  Go North East refused to increase its pay offer so its still stalemate.

There is a bit of good news however --- a skeleton service started today on various routes around the area. There will be one bus passing through my village on a route that goes from Gateshead to the Metrocentre.  It will run every 30 mins.  But.....it won't run at the weekend. Or in the evenings. The first bus leaves the Metrocentre at 9.26am and the last bus leaves Gateshead at 2.35pm.  So its no use to anyone with a full time job.  Its not even any use if you want to spend a long time shopping in The Metrocentre or Gateshead / having a meal / going to the cinema etc.  But its better than nothing and will enable folk to get out and about again and go a bit further afield... as long as they don't linger and miss the last bus home.

Masterchef The Professionals and Bake Off on TV this evening.  Love these shows - even though I don't really enjoy cooking or baking.

Steps today - 7.794

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.