Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Strange meeting ...

I think I've had enough of this weather already. Despite the lovely weekend sunshine, I feel we're back in Mordor with a vengeance. At midday we were remarking how it looked more like late afternoon, and by 4.30pm - I actually happened to notice the time - it was almost dark outside. Add to that the rain that was falling when I got up, went off just for long enough for me to walk down to my art class, and had returned by the time I was going home, so that I accepted a lift (It only takes me 15 minutes to walk, but ...)

The good news is that at last I finished my wee painting of Matera - I've been working on it for weeks, a time increased by the teacher's holiday after I'd started painting. I was putting in the ancient cobbles - a rather terrifying stage as I was afraid of spoiling the effect with too much business in the foreground. I'm going to send for a frame - I was all set to buy one then and there from the firm that my teacher uses, but when I found they were going to charge over £14 - which is what the frame itself cost - for postage and packing, because I live in such a "remote area" I abandoned the order. People moan about Amazon, but they at least don't discriminate against large tracts of Scotland. 

I was quite late home from class, which meant I went straight into putting a meal together. Himself had spent the morning with his head in the oven - not killing himself, except insofar as the cleaning of same was pretty arduous - and was ravenous. And then we both collapsed for a bit before choir practice. 

It was dry by the time we came out of the hall. 

My photo is one of only two I took today, and I thought a close-up view of rain on the bedroom window was a bit ... repetitive. So here is a hardly less dreary photo of a strange gathering of pigeons on the roof of the Education Department building. I believe it was a hotel, once upon a time, with that rather Swiss-looking roof shape. I don't know what the pigeons are looking for there - maybe just company. Note the incongruous palm tree - there are several around Dunoon.

I'm sorry I'm a poor reader of the blips of others right now - life keeps catching up on me. I'll be back ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.