Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Carpe diem

I thought we'd left seizing the day too late when we finally got out this morning; I'd seen the weather forecast suggesting that we might have a  better chance of avoiding rain were we to go out before noon, but with one thing and another - phone calls about a concert, OVO and smart meters, getting up late because of last night and then having to make bread - it was actually after midday when we left the house to go to Benmore Gardens, and it was raining. Gloom and bickering all round...

By the time we got to the gardens it was dry. There had been no rain on the windscreen after we reached Sandbank. Result! And the colours were magical, glowing much more brightly than our respective moods. I took over thirty photos, each one feeling that it would be The Chosen One for the blip. And then we got back to the car, noted that it was insanely late not to have had lunch yet,  and discovered that the hand gel had leaked in the compartment between the seats. 

And then I looked up, and saw the robin, sitting there on the wing mirror, looking at me. It sat perfectly calmly while I retrieved my phone, took a couple of photos, and then, when I had satisfied myself that they were successful, he flew off. I wonder if he was the same one that we've met in the car park on other visits ...

The rest of the day has been gloomy, I'm confused about a rota that seems to have me doing something that I may not now be doing, and it's pitch dark outside. I'm so glad that the robin provided a bright moment.

Extra is of two ducks on the pond, merging with the reflections. See if you spot them. This would have been my first choice had the robin not happened along. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.