The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

David Olusoga

I'll stop these dreadful head shots soon!. I went to work. My colleagues were not in, for various reasons. 
I walked home, got changed, walked to yoga, walked home, ate something. Then CleanSteve and I went out to the Sub Rooms to meet colleague A and see David Olusoga.

He was intriguing. I was worried he'd be talking about the subject of his latest TV series, Union (of England, Scotland, Wales and NI) but he was not. He says that after making that series, he is more confused than ever before!  So we heard about statues and toppling (he's from Bristol) and the people who try to take over the board of the National Trust every year, criticising its woke agenda'. (Restore Trust, the splinter group, is in fact a privately owned company. They didn't win any seats this year. I'm a member of the NT for Scotland, so I don't get a vote in England).

And so the talk progressed. Street names. Alma Street
 Very common. There's an Alma House in Stroud. Any idea why so many? Alma was a battle fought during the Crimean War. Do we learn history from street names? Possibly... not. Portobello was another battle, apparently. Do we take down statues of slave traders? Sometimes, especially in Bristol (Google 'Colston statue 2020' if you're not sure). Does their legacy endure? Why, yes. We cannot erase history by removing statues. He quoted the comedian who plays the part of Philomena Cunk, history professor. ' Of course, removing statues is akin to removing history. That's why no one can remember who Adolf aHitler is'.

And then I came home and started making quinoa salad for a lunch tomorrow. Of course, it was only 10.30 pm! Then I went to bed. I am definitely coming down with something nasty. 
.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.