Marsupium Photography

By magi

it's happening II

The van with our stuff eventually arrived not quite without hiccups. I messed up one date on the form (2022 not 2023) and failed to include proof of residence in the UK. Luckily the custom guys were really helpful and I could email them the missing documents. Two guys from Down South arrived and lugged most of our things to our flat. We don't have a lift and we do have an awful lot of books. They decided to deliver the rest tomorrow to avoid getting stuck in our road. I really hope they will manage to park the van tomorrow. Anyway, it is nice to be reunited with our stuff after 477 days. It took a lot longer than expected, mostly due to a power cut and German bureaucracy in general. 

I had to wait quite a lot today which allowed me to finish book #16, Naomi Klein Doppelganger. The book is excellent, although I wouldn't say I enjoyed reading it. It starts off with her own issues of being confused with Naomi Wolf but then expands to issues of the far right, conspiracy theories and absurd but deadly ideas. Her thesis is that as a society we (the West) have swept so many atrocities under the carpet for so many centuries that honesty is no longer expected and that many of the conspiracies are mirrors of what our society did to others. I didn't enjoy the book because it made me confront deeply irrational issues. I did find it convincing though and would highly recommend it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.