ZE1Christie

By ZE1Christie

Slesterer o a Paperer

A fine calm day, some lovely sunny spells, then some cloudy spells and the odd shower.  A calm, clear and frosty evening.

Day off and up early.  Washing out and cleaning chores done.  Mam came by before lunch, she's been helping decorate the bedroom.  Walkies with Sammy before tea.  A quiet evening at home, some more walkies, mam popped by again, now time for the Shetland drama (they've been at my peat bank, eek). 
 
Mam learned to wallpaper from granny, and now my turn to learn from mam.  It was my plan for mam to tell me what to do, keeping me right with measurements and cuttings, pasting and hanging.  Gentle seems to key, patience too.  I seemed to pick it up quickly, even getting around plugs and into the corner.  Just papered this wall, the rest painted.  Hopefully granny was watching us, proud I've learned a new life hack.  Granny and grandad called a good wallpaperer a "Slesterer o a Paperer".  Me nearly finished, Hawthorn Cottage, Houl Road, Scalloway.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.