That Will Do!

By flumgummery

Christmas Cake

I baked the Christmas cake yesterday afternoon and it turned out surprisingly well. It even rose quite well, to about two and a quarter inches high (it's an eight-inch square).

 I got into a fankle lining the tin, when the greaseproof paper had a mind of its own and eventually the layers were held in place with staples; for the replacement brown paper collar (the one used for several years having torn beyond repair) I was pleased to find packing paper, only to discover that it was perforated in sections and therefore split as I tried to tie it on, and the butter/sugar/egg began to curdle so I'd whacked in the flour and whisked it up like mad before the fruit went in.

It is now pleasantly drunk on brandy, wrapped up in nice clean greaseproof and resting in a plastic box, awaiting the time when I can get around to the marzipan stage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.