Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Surprise View

With just one full day in Ripon, and promise of some sun, my destination of choice was Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal Water Gardens. However finding I was only a few minutes walk from the cathedral I just had to investigate this first, and being so early had it virtually to myself … an uplifting start.

It was then on to the abbey (extra). I spent the rest of the morning exploring the majestic ruins (another of Henry VIII's “creations”), and at the time of its dissolution probably the richest monastery in the land.  

After a quick lunch I took a circular walk along the River Skell to the water gardens. The route back was through woodland above the river valley, and suddenly a gap in the trees gave this aptly named view along the river to the abbey in the distance. The sun chose to come out as well, so this just had to be the shot of the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.