Brian's Bits

By Kanyl

Just a coincidence.

       I usually have a "ratch about" / "Fossick around" to see "why" if I don't know something.
       I was a bit thrown wondering why the "Star of David" on an African Coin. Result of search:-
"It's only a coincidence. The six points are supposed to refer to the 6 British colonies comprising British West Africa at the time: Nigeria, Ghana, British Cameroon, Gambia, Sierra Leone, British Togoland." 
       I've yet to discover about the writing on the bottom; one source says it's Arabic, doesn't say why and I haven't yet found a translation.  
       ANYBODY know?
Just found out that "There is also an Arabic inscription at the bottom that translates the value." NOW look up "one Penny" in Arabic - BUT - having run "One Penny" through the system it does not look like - قرش واحد  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.