Anniemay

By Anniemay

A Splashing Time Was Had!!

I might have been vaguely wishing for rain today as the challenge topic was 'splash'. I didn't really want any rain, I've seen enough recently but maybe I could have gone outside and blipped some rain splashing in a puddle. On balance I'm glad it didn't rain for two reasons. First I managed to get some gardening done and my sheets dried and second I had to get more creative.

I like to get in a darkened room with Igor from time to time and challenge myself to capture something I haven't done before. So lets have a go at water splashes in a glass. This shot might look like it was a simple case of a glass of water,Igor dropping some ice cubes and me pressing the shutter. Not so!! We couldn't get the combination of camera settings and flash setting right so that took us a bit of trial and error. I've been told I must write these things down so I don't have to start from scratch next time I do something similar. Good advice. Will do it later. How much water in the glass, how many ice cubes, how high??? The variables are endless. Then we have to work out a system for pressing the shutter at the right time. It was a bit hit and miss but a count of one, two, three, drop, press worked about one in ten times. We took many shots and got a few good ones. This one is my favourite.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.