Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

A day in the kitchen

Neither of us slept well last night so we didn't feel like going out and doing a great deal today.  Instead I had a day in the kitchen making a couple of things I needed to make and a couple of others I've wanted to make for a while.  Firstly, I made some Labneh which is all ready to be mixed with some chopped herbs and a few spices tomorrow.  It's the Christmas Lights switch-on in town tomorrow evening so that will go with a few other 'picky bits' when we get home.  Then, some Blackcurrant Pastilles.  I had seen the recipe for them some time ago but blackcurrants are difficult to find; I reckon the people who make Ribena buy them all.  I spotted some frozen ones last week so used those; the result is good and intensely flavoured, but I'll probably not bother again.

Then I made some sage and parmesan biscuits; a bit like a savoury shortbread with a paprika kick, and very tasty.  Definitely worth doing again.  Finally, a big pan of chilli which will last us a few meals; it's bubbling away nicely while I bake a couple of potatoes to go with it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.