Day at a Time

By Tweedy

Saint Agnes

I'm in Edinburgh a lot over the next few weeks and each time I'm here I'm trying to fit in a few extra activities. My main purpose today is lunch with some former colleagues. The extra is a visit to the newly opened galleries of Scottish Art. There's a lot to see and enjoy. My favourite today is this painting by David Gauld, one of the Glasgow Boys. 

I think it's an absolute delight. I've tried to recreate it in my blip with the dark blue wall behind and the deep shadows. I'm interested in the background scene. The Glasgow Boys spent a summer or two in Cambuskenneth, near where I live. In my imagination that's the bell tower of Cambuskenneth Abbey, the River Forth and the orchards. No-one seems to know so I've submitted an enquiry to the National Galleries. Maybe a curator can tell me. 

I'm off for lunch now and home much later. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.