Musing of a Lady

By inkstainedhands

Making New Memories

Today would have been my 5th wedding anniversary. I spent the last few weeks trying not to think about today. Yesterday, when I realized I couldn't escape today by pretending it wasn't going to happen, I stood outside and smoked like a chimney. I'm currently not drinking, so getting drunk was out of the question. I told my parents last night why I'd been smoking so much and this morning, they told me that they wanted to take Little Man and me into Leiden to make new memories.

So we got into the car and drove to Leiden, a city near Rotterdam. They took us to this lovely restaurant they've gone to a couple of times. We ordered lunch and had a lovely time. The restaurant was really busy, so we were seated at this little coffee table, which made it a bit tricky with Little Man. He did splendidly. Knowing his love of pancakes, we ordered that, expecting him only to have one out of the four, but he surprised us by eating the load (see the first extra). We then went for a walk through the city. It's definitely a university city but I loved it. We also got a coffee from a little cafe. I had to share that photo as my main blip today as it's been quite a while since I've posted a photo of my coffee. Since I came to the Netherlands, I don't think I've been out for coffee more than about seven or eight times, which for me is a big deal. I used to drink a lot of coffee when I was out and about in England.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.