Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Shortie

I think what I like about raptors generally is their eyes. I love eyes. You can tell so much by looking into a persons eyes - a giveaway really. The owls are no different. The focus, concentration and intensity ... because if they don't see it, they don't catch it and they don't eat.

You might wonder how a raptor catches anything in a field.  Owls yes do have the face shape which hones everything into their ears but and I don't know if this applies to owls, many birds see things in different colours to us so a vole in a field say would leave a trail and if your vision is in UV you would see that. Whether or not you as a vole in hiding were safe that raptor would know where the trail leaded to. Maybe this is why the shorties have their areas and their vole holes - all roads lead to Rome so to speak. 

I'd be interested if anyone has a view on this.

I rocked up tonight and saw people swinging their lenses so shunted the car onto the verge with a crunch (hope Hubs isn't going to read this ) shot out of the car, grabbed the camera and shot. Well after 1 min I needed a coat, to swap the cameras on the lenses, get the tripod up etc. But and a big BUT it was just so very fabulous to see the owls in the air. I think this is why I dislike zoos so very much. The inmates aren't wild and aren't where they should be. There were 3 owls up tonight and something I've never had on camera before.in one frame. I might if pushed put that up later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.