A day in the life

By Shelling

Consumption

Low clouds, grey and a bit chilly, only four degrees and the weatherpeople on tv threatens with snow any day now.
I've been practicing guitar and playing songs most of the morning and prepared an editing job for a friend, that I'm starting tomorrow.

Normally I've managed to stay out of the hysteria of "Black Friday", that has now changed to "Black Week" plus that some shops start a bit early. I'm sure we will see a "Black November" before long. I've just bought a new Tv though, the old one is over ten years old and has lost quite a bit of clarity and DVD's don't play well, so I thought it was time. Tv's are expensive these days, that's why I checked if the Tv I wanted was on the sale. It was and I've got one. No more said about that.

During my afternoon walk before I was going to the theatre in Kalmar for a job, I passed these marshmallows for cows and thought they fitted well in the theme of consumption. 
Even the theatre was full of people consuming music, two artists, a singer/guitarist and a base player entertained the audience with simple and happy "Hillbilly music" in Swedish, music you can hear the "young-mostly-boys-with-cars" playing. Catchy tunes with a song along refrain, often involving booze and women. The audience mostly youngish men loved it and sang along in most of the songs and was very happy. A really lovely evening actually, nothing was deeper than a centimetre and there wasn't a problem that couldn't be solved with beer and spirits. Everybody forgot about their own problems for a while and was willingly taking part in making it a memorable evening. The singer, who calls himself "Billy Opel" is actually a good guitarist and has an amazing nack for writing singable tunes and witty lyrics. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.