Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

The Roulettes

I am posting this very late.   I was out for most of the day at the Newcastle Williamtown Air Show.   I paid to sit at a prime vantage point at Fort Scratchley and am not sorry I did.  It was a great air show.  I was sitting next to a man who had been to lots of airshows and loved the old warbirds,  (see first extra for a Canberra Bomber, Spitfire and Mustang and the second extra to give you and idea of the view from where I was sitting).

  It was like chatting to a serious trainspotter.  He knew his stuff and his wife's niece was flying one of these roulettes.  Normally there are seven I think but one had just become a father, one was giving a commentary and the other was doing an individual display later.  They fly the PC21s which are a training aircraft.  I might put some up on flickr later but I took over 1200 images and haven't been through them all as I have run out of time.   I also had to leave as despite having 2 batteries, I flattened them both.   And can I say I am absolutely gob smacked on the focus tracking capabilities of the new camera.  I would never have got the results I did with the old one.  

And in other news, I have had a text from my brother (I have since spoken to him) to say he was in hospital and his hand was being operated on tomorrow so at the crack of dawn I will be heading to Sydney.  I am likely to be off air while I am down there so I will catch you when I am back in Newy.

Have a great weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.