Look Out

By chrisf

Domestics

It has been a grey, gloomy day today. I have been focussed on domestic chores, not photography, so my blip today is a record shot of my latest book and CD (I still prefer physical things).

I read a really good review of Hein de Haas’s book in New Scientist and decided to buy it. The sub- heading is “ a factful guide to the most divisive issue in politics”, and sets out 22 myths about migration and why they are wrong. It’s quite a tome. As a professor in migration studies for over 30 years the author knows his subject, and is clearly frustrated that all the arguments about it from all sides all seem to ignore the facts. As he says, he cannot be for or against migration, in the same way as he cannot be for or against the economy. Both just “are”.

And the CD is the latest from Martin Simpson (with Thomas Jutz). I’ve only ever seen him play once, at a folk club in Beverley in 1979. A brilliant guitarist. CD’s didn’t exist then, I bought the LP.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.