Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Current project

It's been wet and windy today - definitely a day for indoor activities.

I'm still plugging away, hand quilting the bordering squares.  I've had to take out some of mum's stitching because I couldn't press the squares flat.  All the quilting on the central panel is mum's - I haven't yet tried pressing it - keeping my fingers crossed it will be OK.  It will undoubtedly need extra quilting.  

Decided to lay it out this evening as a break, and to give me a bit of a boost.  What this did bring to light is that there are, in the bag, 15 bordering squares, and only 14 are needed for the quilt.  The 15th, which isn't yet quilted, can perhaps be used to make a cushion.

The quilting thus far has been done with some rather cheap polyester wadding, and muslin backing this - this has meant I didn't need to worry about the finishing off - it'll all be hidden by a backing fabric which has yet to be chosen and purchased.  But the cheap wadding means the quilting stitching lines can't be too far apart.

There's a piece of coordinating fabric to use as sashing between the bordering squares - going to need some accurate measuring!  Sewing it together, with the sashing and the backing, will be a "learn as you go" process!

Apart from sewing, I also did a session on the exercise bike.  I've added a kneeling and standing exercise to my routine, and was pleased to note a definite improvement in my ability to get up from a kneeling position this morning.

I also spent some time fluting.

W has been working in the his workshop - some progress with his storage, and then repairing a drawer of my music storage cabinet that was damaged during the removal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.