Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Daunting

This project was started by my mum.  She died in 2004, and before that she suffered with dementia for a number of years, so this probably dates back to the early 1990s when my children were young.  It is a central largish panel, which she has hand quilted (though I'm not convinced she had really finished it), and 14 squares, each individually quilted, to fasten around the edge, some of which are started - to a greater or lesser degree.  Taking over something that someone else started is always daunting, and I've had to buy extra supplies - thread and muslin so far, and later I will need more wadding.

Since the quilting is all done by hand, I thought it might be an ideal project for our transition to the new house, so I dug it out today and sorted it out a little.  

I finished the last strip of the Cranky Quilt, and that is now rolled up and  in a box with some extra fabric to make the edging.  It will go into storage, and come out once we are settled in Ireland.  That event inches closer - the owners of our attached semi have agreed to sign the document (but it's costing us £250 (plus VAT) for them to have passed it in front of a lawyer!!!!).  Poor W bore the brunt of a "melt down" on my part this morning, when it seemed there was yet more delay, due to one of them having Covid.  W's Irish bank account is now active.  We've paid a "booking deposit" and ordered a survey on a house in Ireland.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.