talloplanic views

By Arell

By George, it's the Pullman

"The Midland Pullman is an experience. As you step on board, you walk into a world where the glassware gleams, the tablecloths are crisply white, and nothing is too much trouble."

It doesn't come to Edinburgh all that often* and I'd never seen the train in person so I thought I'd swing by for a look.  Of course it's really just an ordinary HST/Intercity 125 repainted in the same Nanking Blue livery as the old Blue Pullmans of the 1960s, but the carriages are all rather nicely turned out with leather seats, linen, and logos etched on the windows and all the crockery.  A dining ticket costs £350 and you can have a seven course meal.

After it rumbled out of Waverley and round the South Sub to spend three hours at the sidings at Joppa, while the equally elegantly turned out passengers spent three hours in the city centre, I ambled out of Waverley to look at some new and not very well constructed cycle infrastructure near Haymarket, and then went back across town to Cameron Toll for the sales, where I got a couple of nice jumpers to wear at Christmas meals and things.  Apart from my floaty, flowery skirt the other day I haven't really bought any nice clothes for myself for years.

The shopping spree left me bang on time to amble over towards Craigmillar where the path runs next to the railway, so I was able to watch the train returning to Waverley for its departure back to Swindon, and I cycled home the long way.

* except this week, next week, and early December

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.