CrocusMan

By TonyG

Crocus caspius

Iranian crocuses have been much more widely researched and documented in ways widely accessible in the last couple of decades but there are a couple of species that have been in cultivation for many years.  Collections made before the Iranian Revolution by Rear Admiral Paul Furse, from areas around the Caspian Sea, have been kept going by enthusiasts thanks to it's ready capacity to set seed.  Commonly the white flowers have a pale purple wash on the outside of the outer petals but this one is pure white.   It grows happily out in the  garden here but this one is in a pot and has the protection of the greenhouse.

My weekend at home alone was interrupted early this morning by a call for help from my boss.   So, from 10 til 3 I was working in the shop.  I was kept gently busy by a steady trickle of customers, filling all the gaps unpacking things from a big stock delivery and pricing them as I went along.   I took both dogs, hoping it would be a quiet day,  Meg did come in from the car for an hour or so and behaved really well but when a dog in the adjacent cafe started barking I decided to pop her back in the car rather than risk a 'dog explosion' should another dog venture into the shop!

After work I joined the Wednesday choir - known as 'Singing Stars' - in the High Street where we sang a few Carols in a mix of Welsh and English as the forecast rain hinted at it's arrival.   Then a short dog walk and home to warmth and a hot chocolate :-)

A quiet night in, further warmed by a fresh baked sponge pudding.  Hopefully my colleague who was off today will be back tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.