David J. Rose

By djrose007

AGM

Today it was the Royal British Legion Riders Branch (Branch Number 3542) Annual General Meeting. I drove up to Oldbury, between Birmingham and Wolverhampton, to attend as I was also going to pick up a 'Banner' from the previous County Rep, prior to me being voted in to take over the leading role.
As it happens, it wasn't the large left to right banner that I thought it was. Turned out to be one of those up and down 'pop-up' banner with the RBL Riders Crest. I could have gone on the bike as it was much smaller than i was expecting.
AGM's tend to be quite dry and a bit boring, not the Riders one. Much comment between the committee members, and sometimes between them and the audience, much of it unrepeatable! It is, however, very funny and makes the whole thing more enjoyable so you take more notice of the items being discussed.
We are, mostly, military veterans so banter between the services, and even regiments, is rife and so funny. I really enjoyed the afternoon. There was a social event in the evening which was discussed;
"How many bands do we have this evening?"
"I think it's 17" (someone joking around)
"No, seriously is it 2 or 3?"
Long pause..
"It's one"
Silence for a moment - "Only one, OK then"
I hope everyone enjoys the single band, the chatter and the drinking, many of them have come from far and wide and were staying in hotels tonight, one (IBIS) within walking distance.
I had to get back home as something had been arranged for me this evening, a surprise gathering of our 'children', and a couple of grandchildren. That was nice too so I didn't miss out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.