If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

10 years of continuous blipping.

I was a bit of a late developer blipwise, my wife brother, two daughters, and cousin were all blipping before me.  I was persuaded to start just to record the lead up to and recovery from my hip replacement surgery.  I only intended to blip for a few short months, not even a 365 challenge.  Well as you will know being a blipper it becomes addictive.  I haven't missed a day since I started on 17/12/2013.  Unless you are mathematically challenged you will be thinking "hang on how has he done 10 years we haven't reached December yet".

Let me explain when I joined you could post photos from before you started, these were known as archive blips and weren't counted to your total.  Then somewhere between blip's original form and the blip company we have now archive photos became counted as part of your total.  I know nothing can be done about this but I find it very unsatisfactory.  In theory you could now join blip on Monday and celebrate your first year blipping on Tuesday by posting photos from your back catalogue.

However apart from that minor grumble I have thoroughly enjoyed the blipping and hope to continue for as long as I can.  I am extremely grateful to Joe Tree who originally came up with the idea of blip.  I am even more grateful to the current devoted volunteers who keep things running so smoothly so that we photographers from round the world can have so much enjoyment.

Oh, I nearly forgot.  The blip!  Clickychick and I went to Gelt Woods looking for Autumn colour. sadly the path we wanted to take was closed owing to fallen rocks.  The notice said closed for 21 days and was dated in August.  I wonder how long their days are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.