Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Saira

I had a long overdue visit to the opticians to get tested and sort out some new glasses. Then another errand to the Alhambra box office to try to return a ticket for resale for an event which is now on a train strike day. 

All of which saw me at the end of my neglected One Street - veteran blippers will recall this Blip project initiated by @kendallishere eleven years ago. Until five years ago I walked the street regularly on work days, but my changing personal geography has moved me away from it. I walked a little way up the street, noting more closed pubs, and eateries that had changed, before spying this piece of street art by Ruth Fettis. Princess Saira is in recognition of Saira Tabasum, a Bradford boxing champion and is apparently a linoprint on aluminographic foil. Apologies to the unwitting delivery worker.

More culture followed in the form of Marc Wilson’s photographic exhibition at Impressions Gallery: A Wounded Landscape (extra). This is a very moving collection of work which bears witness to the Holocaust. Wilson documented 130 locations in 20 countries and gathered the stories of 22 survivors. It’s on until February 3rd and I strongly recommend it. 

Returning to City Park I admired the ice sculpture festival (extra) that was in progress, before catching the bus out to Thackley for football. Campion were the visitors, making it a Bradford derby and with both teams riding high in the NCEL there was plenty to play for. A 1-1 result was fair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.