My topsy-turvy life

By Rathmandu

Ofnadwy

Conwy half marathon
1:46:41

I probably shouldn't have run today.
Out for my last training run on Thursday, I felt a twinge in my left calf and decided to just put it out of my mind. Come this morning it was still feeling a bit not right, so I taped it up and decided to give it a go. If this has been a random race I might not have bothered but being the last of the 4 Castles series, with a hoodie and medal hanger waiting for me, not to mention being a present(?) I thought I had to at least try. 

It wasn't a disastrous race and although I could feel it, the kinesthetic tape was doing its job. I got through to about mile 9 (out of Conwy, towards Llandudno, up and around the Great Orme) when I started to feel it. The tape had lost its stickiness in the driving rain on the Orme and it just started to feel tighter and tighter as I tried to get myself to the finish which at that point seemed quicker than dropping out. I think I knew that if I stopped them I might not get started again and that was proved true after crossing the finish line as I hobbled off to get goodies. Stairs are now a problem.

It's a great course but the weather today certainly made it more challenging. Pretty much non-stop rain and wind that was so strong as we reached the top of the Orme that it was a mission just to move forwards and the rain was horizontal and stinging so all I could do was look at my feet and keep one foot in front of the other.
Perversely I quite enjoyed it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.