helenann

By helenann

Ozzy the Bull

Today I took the train from Watford to Birmingham, to meet up with four friends. (Seven years ago, we spent a short time together volunteering on a project in Sierra Leone. Three of them already worked together here. The following year, three  of us returned to S L  to do some more  work.) 
When I arrived at Birmingham New Street station I was confronted by the sight of Ozzy the mechanical  Bull. He was a show piece at last year's Commonwealth Games but has now been relocated  to a spot close to Birmingham's  Bullring. At a quarter past  each hour, for a few minutes,  his eyes light up, he moves his head and roars, and he swishes his tail. (I saw his 11.15 am performance- I can't pretend  he was really scary - I didn't witness any frightened children!)       
Then I walked on to the Old Joint  Stock Theatre pub Old Joint Stock to meet my friends  for a very good lunch and catch- up. (See extra)
It's been a lovely, relaxed day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.