Marionb

By Marionb

More Books...

Oops - missed yesterday's posting - too busy on the phone and raking leaves to remember to take a photo! Oh well, a photo of yard waste bags and a rake would not be all that interesting anyway. 

Today was not suitable for raking, so "books" was the focus of my day...I started our next book club selection Yellowface which I knew would be a challenge. I had read mixed reviews and today decided to investigate further..which was probably not a good idea..Why not just read it and make up my own mind afterward? So that is what I am doing...

But here's a hint from the fly leaf - "White lies, dark humour, deadly consequences... Bestselling sensation Juniper Song is not who she says she is, she didn't write the book she claims she wrote, and she certainly is NOT Asian American".. ..apparently a " chilling and hilariously cutting novel". We shall see.....

Then tonight, my friend E and I went to a book talk at the library. (extra) Karin Wells, writer and CBC broadcaster, was the guest. In her book More Than a Footnote, she profiles some remarkable Canadian women who made a difference despite being excluded and overlooked... as women often were back in the day...
 
"Some were outrageous, some were unassuming, most were not polite, but they all ignored the voices that said women could not paddle a canoe, program a computer, understand the universe, or cure a disease. They lived big lives - often at great cost - and they made a difference."  

Karin gave a really engaging description of some of the women she profiled and also gave us some insight into what goes into doing research on women for whom not a lot has been written..women who accomplished amazing things, but women none of us had ever heard of...  

What role models those women could have been for us back when we were young and making career and life choices....if only we had known about them...Those women were firsts in their field..real trail blazers... they dared to go where women had not gone! Maybe we would have been tempted to do the same.... ?

I intended to buy her book, but by the time I got to the head of the line, she was sold out, and the library copies are pretty much locked up with holds; so I can't personally speak for or against the book itself yet ..I can only say that I am intrigued by the stories she told and am looking forward to reading more about those women. 

Tomorrow's weather forecast is not predicting a raking kind of day, so I should make some headway in my reading. 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.