This is the day

By wrencottage

Spotted ...

Smithers had an appointment to see his glaucoma consultant this morning and, once again, The Traveller was kind enough to drive him there for me through the morning rush hour traffic. 

I was pleased to hear when Smithers came back that the appointment had gone well. His consultant said the first couple of weeks after the operation is the most concerning time, because that’s when any signs that the stent is going to be rejected would occur. Now that we’re more than six weeks down the line, it’s clear that the stent is settling and things are very gradually improving. The consultant removed two stitches today and trimmed a further one, and Smithers says his eye feels a lot more comfortable now and he also feels encouraged by her positivity, even though his sight hasn’t yet improved appreciably.

I confess that while he was explaining all this to me, and I was taking notes as I always do, I suddenly leaped out of my chair, grabbed the camera with the long lens which was sitting on a nearby sofa, and took this shot, having spotted the squirrel high up on the branch of the cherry tree with the sun shining on the last remaining leaves. Fortunately Smithers is accustomed to my sudden blip urges and was unfazed by my behaviour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.