This is the day

By wrencottage

Family reunion

Rain was forecast for most of the day, so I popped out into the garden after breakfast while it was still dry and took a photo of this wonderful yellow rose on a bush which I love looking at when I’m standing at the kitchen sink washing up. It was just as well I did, because it wasn’t long before the rain duly arrived.

It was a really happy day for us today because my cousin Mark, and his lovely French wife Sylvie, came to visit us. It’s been over two years since we saw them in the flesh, rather than on a FaceTime, so it was lovely to catch up on hugs. We chatted non-stop over a light lunch of leek and sweet potato soup, cheese and biscuits and fresh fruit salad. 

After they’d gone I nipped upstairs and did a bit more carpet shampooing in the last of the three moth-affected rooms before supper time. That should leave just one more session before that final carpet is finished. I sent photos to The Traveller so he could see how good his room was looking, but he was (in his typical fashion) somewhat underwhelmed with all my efforts. Never mind, Smithers thinks it looks fantastic, and that’s the main thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.