This is the day

By wrencottage

All the fun of the fair!

This gorgeous animated scene is decorating the window of our local estate agents, William Rose. I blipped their Wimbledon display with tennis balls and rackets back in June: https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2981599350032959761 which I thought was very good, but this time they’ve really excelled themselves. The train chuffs round the track, past the slowly turning ferris wheel and the skaters gliding on the ice rink. Once again the company have personalised the scene by putting a William Rose estate agents board beside the track, and their logo on the side of the waggon. It was very difficult to photograph because the sun was shining brightly and the shop windows were reflecting the traffic on the High Road behind me, as well as showing the people sitting inside the estate agents! 

It wasn’t such fun earlier in the day, though. I popped round to deliver a Christmas card order to the 93-year old lady I mentioned in a recent blip who broke her femur in a fall. I tried to let myself in to her home using a key stored inside her key safe on the wall, but couldn’t get the key to open the door. After I’d been trying for some time, she eventually came to the door using her rollator trolley, but she couldn’t open it either! I spoke to her through the letterbox and she told me the lock had been working this morning when her carer came to look after her, so she was puzzled as to why it had suddenly jammed.

I said I’d call for help, and suggested she go and sit in her lounge while we waited. I rang the church office, who rang a church member called Mike who has his own handyman business. He rang me and said he’d be round in a few minutes. Fortunately Mike knows the lady’s home well because he’s done work for her, so he knew that she had a back door which opened into the attached garage, and that she has a clicker which opens the garage door. He asked her to raise the garage door with that, and we were then able to get in to her house through her kitchen. I gave her her Christmas cards and then left Mike dealing with the faulty Yale lock. I was very grateful for his expertise because I’d been worried about her being locked inside her home in case she fell again. 

What with mobile phones and remote controlled garage doors, I was even more grateful than usual today for modern technology!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.