WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Poser

I do ration myself to once a month. Oops -- this day last year. The gatepost is a good vantage point for observing what's going on beyond the gate. He does venture out there, but not often.

I had a much-needed haircut late morning, and since I was in town I did some shopping and then, since it was a beautiful day, went for a walk on the beach followed by a drink and tapa at one of the beachside bars. Result, I didn't get home till nearly 3 o'clock, so I decided to have a snack on the terrace rather than lunch. 

I'd bought some organic mince from Lidl, so later I made a chilli con carne for dinner, using a home-grown chilli someone at the intercambio gave me. I tested a bit of it raw, and my lips were still burning half an hour later, but it mellowed considerably during cooking. I made a large panful and the result was delicious, but I'll add a bit more heat to the rest of it.

There seems to be some kind of Powell and Pressburger craze going on in the UK currently. Someone on Bluesky (the social media site I fled to from the hellhole that is Twitter) mentioned yesterday that they'd watched The Life and Death of Colonel Blimp.  Goodness, I haven't seen that in decades. To my delight I found it available for streaming on FilmIn (actually all of P and P's films seem to be on there). It's two and a half hours long, so I watched half of it last night and finished watching it this evening while the chilli was simmering. Yes, it's over the top, but what a beautiful, touching film -- just as good as I remember it being. An engrossing pleasure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.