Father's Day

The second without my Dad. I found this one much harder than last year for some reason. I think last year, everything was still so recent and raw and I was in a bit of shock. This year, things just felt rubbish. I miss making him his card. I miss the early morning phone call to say hi. I miss spending the day together; usually in the garden, or working on my car, or watching the F1. I miss him.

Today I spent my day in the same garden we have spent so much time together over the years. I finally got round to planting my veg crops for this summer; tomatoes, squash, cucumber and peppers. I washed my car. I listened to Blondie. I sat in the sun. I did the things we would have been doing together. The photo within this photo is of Dad and I together when I was about 4 in the very same garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.