Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Salford Quays

It’s a day out in Manchester today. We’re going to see ‘The Rite of Spring’ in The Lowry tonight, so we’re getting our Christmas Market ‘fix’ - and yes, I know it’s only November!

It’s a tradition to head for King Street to a French bar and indulge in a mulled wine with brandy (I’m gradually reintroducing some alcoholic drinks as my medicating tails off). It doesn’t disappoint - though G is somewhat taken aback at the cost of £24! The shock is lessened by the £7.00 refund when we take the mugs back! 

We wander round the various stalls, uninspired by the offerings but enjoying the November sunshine. Then it’s on to Harvey Nichols where we sit overlooking the Cathedral Quarter enjoying a cup of coffee - one of the few things we can afford there! 

The Lowry Theatre is outside Manchester itself in Salford Quays, an area I always love in terms of photography, and today I’ve actually brought my camera rather than my iPhone. I’ve hoped to catch the sunset, but just miss it. Still, there’s a wealth of opportunity to photograph the lights and buildings reflected in the water.  

As for the performance - it’s excellent.  It’s a ballet that has quite a reputation right from its Paris premiere in 1913 when the audience rioted in response to what they saw. Vaslav Nijinsky’s The Rite of Spring had a surprisingly short shelf life. Despite more than 130 fraught and complicated rehearsals as the dancers struggled to get to grips with the stylised steps and Stravinsky’s radical  rhythms, it was only performed 10 times before consigning it to the history books. 

Today, of course, things are different - though the score is still radical in many ways. And we’re not looking at a traditional ballet tonight; this is Seeta Patel’s version using the South Indian classical dance form of bharatanatyam, with its intricate rhythmic footwork, geometric and dynamic movements and expressive prowess. It’s different, and very effective. The music isn’t live, but it’s a superb recording, and there’s some live Indian music as well - a great evening. 

But I must admit I’m absolutely shattered; I realise that though I’m feeling so much better, there really is a limit to how much I can do! It’s a case of straight to bed when we get home …. 

Many thanks for your kind response to yesterday’s ‘Eyes of the Skin’ blip - so pleased you appreciated this precious piece of art! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.