a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Heeeelp!!!

The poor female Gadwall had 10 suitors.  The dominant male was kept busy trying to see off his rivals to secure his mate, while the female was clearly quote fed up with all the unwanted attention.  Eventually, she took to the air to try to get rid of some of the unwanted males, 7 of them took off with her.  It was only after I looked at the sequence of shots that I realised that she'd also decided to "lighten her load".  It was either (i) her opinion of the males, or (ii) a moment of sheer terror.  Sadly, I think it might have been the latter.

In a day of things being dropped, the Marsh Harrier in the first extra seems to have dropped a small white round object from its claw. I've no idea what it was. 

Finally there's an additional Marsh Harrier extra that I've included because it shows off the bird's plumage so well.  The shot was taken at ISO12800 shortly after dawn In very dark conditions and suffers a bit as a result, but I do like the shape of the wings and the autumnal colours. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.