carliewired

By carliewired

The Three Sisters, Canadian Rockies

From above Canmore,
Alberta, these matriarchs
supervise daily.

~ carliewired

Canmore, Alberta is my favourite town in the Canadian Rocky Mountains. I lived in the area for a year before I was married. It holds many good memories of old friends, skiing adventures and beautiful landscapes. Canmore is an hour west of Calgary on the Trans-Canada Highway. On my way home today I stopped at a favourite quilt store there, took this quick shot of this lovely view I often miss and headed out to the highway again.
The Three Sisters are so wonderful to behold in all weather. I could sit and watch the light change across them all day! The tallest of the three is 9, 632 feet/2, 936 metres. They offer some challenge to local climbers. The town of Canmore offers a live webcam focussed on the Three Sisters. This trio is possibly the most photographed range in the Bow Valley. They are even featured in quilts!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.