Marionb

By Marionb

Greetings...

I figured that if I was going to send Christmas cards again this year, I had better get busy..I like to make my own, but that takes time. I have always enjoyed the tradition of sending cards and receiving not just the cards but the letters inside as well; however, that tradition seems to be fading away replaced in part by emails and e-cards; I do miss it.

Today I decided I would gather up my Christmas craft supplies and at least get organized to start making some cards - even if just a few special ones. Among those supplies is a box of lovely cards I have received from friends and have saved in order to savour them every year ... handmade cards, funny cards, beautiful cards.. and of course, the letters that were enclosed in them. 

The cards in the main photo were all created by S, whose artistic talent is evident in them!  Every year, I look forward to finding her latest creation in my mailbox. She and her husband are long-time friends who live in the UK and whom I love to visit whenever possible....which unfortunately is not that often. 

I do love pop-up cards too (extra). I do not have many, but each one is a reminder of the special person who sent it and the memories we shared. I like to bring a couple of them out every year and display them on the mantel. It would be fun to try to make one, but alas, methinks they are way beyond my capabilities! 

So, my Christmas card supplies are all out of storage now and ready to use...heh heh..now I just need the energy and some creative ideas to get to work... 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.