Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

View from my kitchen

Blipped before I went to a jewellery workshop at Coburg Studios. Nearly all the leaves were blown off the trees a couple of days after I blipped this.

At the workshop I made a ring using sand casting which is an ancient technique. I firstly carved a ring out of green wax so that it fitted me and was more or less the shape I wanted and then it was pressed into a mould of sand. The wax ring was then removed from the mould and molten silver was poured into the mould (not done by me - I let the tutor do that). Then there was a lot of filing and polishing to get the ring to a finished state. I've blipped the ring on 22nd. There are extras for today of the wax ring and the mould after the silver has been removed. I should have taken more photos but we were busy doing the making.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.